My New Strength Training Plan

I was just talking with Mama Bear the other week about how it would be good for me to do some strength training. Of course she told me I should do yoga. I don’t disagree with this. Yoga would be really good for me, working on core strength, upper body strength, balance and flexibility. But I can’t get past the $10-$15 per class. I figured doing push ups, sit ups and plank on a regular basis would be helpful to me. And then we were invited to go water skiing and that changed my whole perspective. It had been quite some time since I had been water skiing. It’s been at least three years. So I was excited to go to say the least. But I didn’t know the revolution it was going to bring to me.

We had a beautiful day to go skiing. My first time behind the boat, I decided to go for the slalom, one ski. It took me a couple of times to get up, partially due to the fact that I forgot which foot I put forward. When I did get up on my second or third try, I felt like I was almost immediately tired. It takes a lot of leg, arm and core strength, as well as balance to be able to get up. It is also a workout cutting back and forth. So, after what seemed like a rather short period of time, I let go, tired and out of breath. It was short, but I got a good workout.
20130617-075112.jpg
Later in the day it was time to try out the wakeboard. The wakeboard requires a lot less strength and effort to get up and carve back and forth, but it does require strength and balance to jump the wake.

20130617-081942.jpg
20130617-082112.jpg

Mama Bear got her workout in as well. She showed how easy it was, popping right up on the skis.
20130617-082240.jpg

My arms are still sore today, two days after we went. I think this strength training plan will be my second book, after, “Tennis Your Way To Triathlon“. If I continue with my strength training plan, maybe I’ll be big and strong, just like this:

20130617-082848.jpgMama Bear got these for the boys for Father’s Day.

Leave a comment